Getting Mexico

Getting Mexico
December 25, 2010
Feliz Navidad

Christmas morning dawned clear and comfortably cool. Ho Hum. It was just another gorgeous day on the Sea of Cortez.

The house we are in is maybe 30 feet from the water’s edge and the water is just full of life. We are treated with a continuing show of one animal in search of another one that can be eaten. There are sea lions and porpoises usually visible. There always seem to be a good number of pelicans and I love watching them glide gracefully and then fall into the ocean with the most uncoordinated crash. And of course there are the sea gulls which once or twice a day congregate on our sea wall. I suspect that they think it is their sea wall.

So in order to keep the sea gulls in the sea where they belong I put out my watch duck. This had exactly the opposite effect that I wanted when every sea gull around came to see the painted lady bird. I guess they don’t get a lot of loose looking birds into the neighborhood.

A New Gull in Town

Q. Why do sea gulls fly over the sea?
A. Because if they flew over the bay they would be bagels.

(I can go back to pig jokes if you think those were better.)

Since it was Christmas I managed to have two breakfasts. My normal one of cereal and the one Karen and Larry made of grilled pineapple and left over turkey. Good.
Then we opened presents on the deck. I like having Christmas in shorts and t-shirts. Christmas suits me a lot better when it is warm.

After digesting my two breakfasts we left to go have another meal at the yacht club. I walked over there in order to justify eating again. I know that is weak but it was all I could come up with. Sometimes I walk and sometimes I run but running in Mexico is fraught with peril. There are few sidewalks and what pavement there are rarely runs more than a few feet before changing elevation. So mostly I walked and stopped every hundred yards to look up a word in the dictionary.

A well planned sidewalk

At the San Carlos yacht club we were greeted by Jan of Barracuda Bob’s who was hosting a Christmas meal for expatriates and other loose ends in the town. It was nice to visit with people and catch up on their adventures. Pretty much everyone in San Carlos has a story or an adventure. That is how they got here. The yacht club and the marina are the most modern things that I have seen in town.

Marina San Carlos

After another nice meal I walked home. Along the way I found this along a busy walking path. I think there must not be many lawyers in Mexico.

Safety First

Back at the house we contemplated eating and drinking some more and decided on just drinking and watching the sunset over the Tetas des Cabras, the most notable landmark in the area. It was a good day.

2 Comments

Filed under Mexico, travel

2 responses to “Getting Mexico

  1. Merry Christmas!!!
    We are pretty CLOSE to Mexico, but you WIN! I am with you, warm weather suits me the best–always, not just at Christmas! Meg and Jeff are in North Carolina and they are snowed in! No fun. What else is fun, you ask? tripping over a crack that has been haphazardly patched in mexico…hilarious!
    i just love reading about your travels, thanks for all of the updates!
    Love,
    Kelly {and Matt}

    Like

    • Bob

      Hey Kiddo;

      You are my biggest fan. Wait. You are my only fan.

      I feel bad for Megan and Jeff but who leaves beautiful San Diego to go to N Carolina-ever.

      I hope you and your guy had a Merry Christmas and all of the best to you and Matt in the coming year.

      Love you back

      Like

Where should I go next?

