Down on the Bayou

Down on the Bayou

July 7, 2011

I awoke with a heachache on what I came to believe was Thursday morning.  I think both the
headache and not knowing what day of the week it is is all part of the Bourbon Street xperience.  But I soon made myself well with some Community coffee and off I went.

Beignets

I walked down the length of Bourbon Streetwhere everything but the souvenir shops was closed.  I visited St Peter’s basilica at Jackson Square and of course I had to have some beignets and more coffee.  And a praline.  It seems to me that massive amounts of powdered sugar and caffeine are good hangover cures.  Why else would they serve such stuff?

New Orleans balcony

It was a hot day in New  Orleans so it was time to head out to the swamps.  I got an Enterprise car and headed back out to the swamps where I started many years ago.  I went to my sister Belle (the Crab Queen) and her husband Lou’s house in Thibodaux.  They were just back from Grand Isle. So we got to visit a bit before I went off to have dinner with the in-laws in Houma.

Jackson Square

After watching ‘Swamp People’ on the History channel I finally called it a day.  If you want to
see what goes on in South Louisiana watch ‘Swamp People’.  There are sub titles for those of you who don’t speak Cajun.

Horse like creature

Leave a comment

Filed under Amtrak

Where should I go next?

