Oregon Road, The California Coast

 

January 19, 2013

The days have been cold in the Sacramento Valley and I for one do not like it. If that global warming thing is going to kick in, now would be a good time. Whatever. I can always change my environment if I don’t like the one I am in. So on a cold Manteca morning I took off for the coast. As it turned out, this was an excellent idea.

In spite of what most people think I always have a plan. I know that it looks like I am wandering around rudderless with no worthwhile goals and …. Well that is pretty much true. But in this case I was off on another Roads Scholar trip. It is called “Storm Watching on the Oregon Coast” or some such nonsense. I just thought of it is another chance to get out of the normally foggy, but now cold, valley in which I live.

“It’s the journey not the end.” I don’t know who said that but I have now stolen it and claim it as my own. To that end I headed to the California coast which I believe has to be one of the most scenic drives any where. I crossed the Golden Gate Bridge and headed to Stinson beach to pick up Hwy 1, the Pacific Coast Highway, the PCH or whatever you want to call it.

clip_image002

Golden Gate Bridge

Once on the coast the weather never changes. It is always about 60 degrees, the sun shines constantly and the scenery is spectacular. People are out recreating. Life moves at a different pace. And so does the traffic. But there is no reason to be in a hurry. So I meandered up the coast taking time to take a few photos, pet a few dogs, and have a little picnic. I could feel the stress just melting away. Wait! I didn’t have any stress to begin with.

clip_image004

Me. Stress free.

So I wandered along until I got tired and hungry and pulled into a town for the night. I think the town is Eureka which means ‘I have found it”. I think. Maybe it means “I think I have found it.” clip_image006

I Think I Have Found It.

Leave a comment

Filed under Roads Scholar

Where should I go next?

