Oregon Roads Scholar, Newport

 

January 24, 2013

Thursday

This morning was cold and windswept. So we took an early morning ‘interpretive’ hike. I don’t know what ‘interpretive’ means but I am sure it some Oregonian code word for ‘let’s freeze the tourist.’

But since there was a strong wind out of the east, and heavy wave action from the west, it made from some great picture ops. The ocean looked like milk as it ran up on the dark rocks along the shore. I must have taken fifty pictures of this, but will only bother you with one.

clip_image002

Milk on the rocks

So we ate breakfast, took a hike for an hour, got in the bus, and drove to Newport to eat again. That 2 to 2 and ½ hour stint between meals really wore me down. But after we ate we got too got to the Yaquina Bay light house. It was only been in operation for three years between 1871 and 1874. It was soon seen as inadequate and the Yaquina Head light house was built to take its place. The light house suffered the same fate as most light houses, falling into neglect. It was rescued from destruction and now stands as a tourist attraction.

clip_image004

The kitchen in Yaquina Bay light house.

From there we headed to Hatfield Science Center where we had a lecture by Dr Bill about all of the things that the U of Oregon has going on out in the ocean. They are working on a program to harvest electricity from wave action but first have to figure out if it will disturb the whales. Then they are laying a series of sensors out on the ocean floor to monitor earthquake activity with hopes of warning of the next tsunami.

Then we spent some time in the science center exploring the experiments they had there. Carol’s grand kids showed up and I immediately started having fun with them building up the sand beach and then destroying it with tsunami waves. The kid’s mother thought I worked there. I told her I did not. I did not have the heart to tell her I really don’t like kids. But for some odd reason they all seem to like me. Probably because we have about the same mental capacity.

clip_image006

Nemo

After that we bounced around Newport for a bit and then we went eat again. I am going to be glad to get home and go back to my normal bland diet. But I did have the best fish and chips with a couple of pints to wash it all down. Nice.

Then we motored back to the Adobe Resort and said our goodbyes. I do not know what I will do for food tomorrow. I do know that I have a new appreciation for the rugged Oregon winter coast. It is quiet beautiful in its own way and I am very glad I came.

So tomorrow I have to drive some 700 miles back to Casa Bob. Hopefully my neighbor Nick has not stolen all of my stuff. Thanks for coming along on this little journey. I don’t know where I am going next.

2 Comments

Filed under Roads Scholar

2 responses to “Oregon Roads Scholar, Newport

  1. Love reading about your adventures. For a guy whose best sport is couch surfing, this is a great way for me to see the world. Can’t wait for the next adventure…

    Like

Where should I go next?

