Upgrading my life

 

I recently had a birthday. That is not such a big deal except that I decided to join the 21st century. technology wise. I got a new I-Phone. I say ‘I got’ because Verizon was more than happy to give me one for the flip phone I have been using for the last 6 years. Three of those years it has been held together with red duct tape because I long ago modified it to accept, sort of, a much larger battery. I could go off for a week without having to worry about a charge and jump start the occasional small car to boot.

clip_image001

Out with the old.

I told my dentist that I had a new I-Phone and he told me I needed a blue tooth to go with it. Who am I to argue? We have known each other quite a while and since I helped put his twins through college he did the blue tooth job for nothing. What a guy. Reception is a little sketchy though.

clip_image003

My new BlueTooth

We had a block party slash birthday party on National Night Out. My dear, sweet neighbors made me this really excellent birthday card that they all signed. This is a really good thing since when I forget their names I just have to look for their picture on my birthday card.

clip_image005

It is not easy to get them all upright at once.

Then one of them, who we call Kathleen to protect her identity, went through a lot of trouble to find a statue of a dog that looked like my book cover. She even painted an oversized tongue on the statue. Now that is just special.

clip_image007

Gizmo and Gizmo

All in all it was a pretty good birthday as those things go. Why did it take so long to report on this? I have a new I-Phone. ‘Nuf said.

Leave a comment

Filed under updates on an average life

Where should I go next?

