Swinging and Twisting

Southwest Swing

Mesquite

10/1/2015

I spent the day in Las Vegas taking pictures and then packed up my stuff and headed for the next stop on the tour-Mesquite, NV. While the temperatures in Las Vegas had been unseasonable warm, it looked as though it would not be much better in Mesquite: One hundred degrees plus a constant wind. A hundred degree wind just makes it feel hotter. I now believe that they schedule these tournaments at this time of the year because no one but softball players would be crazy enough to come to this part of the country at this time. Other than golfers.

clip_image002

My first order of business was to meet my new team, The Merchants, out of Florida. I am beginning to think that I am just a softball slut, as I will go with anybody. It remains to be seen whether this team will do any better than Damaged Goods. I met up with Jim Hendricks of The Merchants, got my team shirts, went to dinner and called it an early night.

10/2/2015

Peppermint Twisting

I was up early to get myself ready for a batting practice at 7 AM and a game at 8 AM. I made it out to the ball fields and they are the best I have ever played on. The outfields are the best putting greens I have ever played on. The infields were as soft as butter and promised some good sliding into bases. BTW: they are few people at this level that slide into bases. I am one of the few.

We played two early games, they were hard fought, and we lost them both. We took a break and I ran into my original senior softball manager, Carl Wagner, and spent some time visiting with him. Carl and his wife travel the senior circuit selling almonds. Carl is an almond farmer and they do this to make their mad money. Carl is also a heck of a ball player who is making his 20th trip to the St. George Senior games. Carl is older than his almond trees.

We had one more afternoon game and this is where the day took one of those turns. Someone had and iPhone and a speaker and tuned it in to “Peppermint Twist”. All the guys on the Merchants knew all the words to “Peppermint Twist” and sang along with the song. Okay, make a list of all of the people you know who know the words to “Peppermint Twist” and can still play softball. It is likely a short list.

Here are the words as a reminder:

“Well they’ve got a new dance and it goes like this
(Bop shoo-op, a bop bop shoo-op)
Yeah the name of the dance is Peppermint Twist
(Bop shoo-op, a bop bop shoo-op)
Well you like it like this, the Peppermint Twist

It goes round and round, up and down
Round and round, up and down
Round and round and a up and down
And a one two three kick, one two three jump”

These guys knew all of the ‘Bop shoo-ops’. You just gotta love that some people refuse to get old.

Alas, we lost that game too. For my part I played catcher and pinch ran. Most of the people who know me would guffaw at me playing catcher but that is the role I was assigned. I hit pretty well and ran the bases well and had a little fun. Another good day of senior softball.

clip_image004

Leave a comment

October 2, 2015 · 4:25 pm

Where should I go next?

