Still Swinging through the Southwest

clip_image002

Monday dawned a gorgeous day for playing some softball. We faced the Mesquite Geezers, a local team, who had become the tournament piñata. We managed to beat them to ‘earn’ the number three seed. I am not certain how a team that wins one out of three games ends up as the three seed in a group of five but I don’t have to understand. I am just here to play softball. I got to play in the outfield, made a few plays, hit 2 for 2 so it was a pretty good outing.

In the afternoon we played the team from Hawaii and we were flat. I once again played pretty well but as a team we did not hit the ball. You cannot win if you don’t hit. I went 2 for 2 again and managed to hit the 305 foot wall so I felt pretty good. We lost ending this tournament. It is on to St George and the Huntsman World Senior Games where we start anew.

10/4/2015

Travel day

On Sunday I watched a little football before moving on the next town on the circuit-St George, Utah. This is the home of the Huntsmen Senior games which bring together 10,000 athletes from 30 different countries to compete in a 12 day event. Unfortunately 5,000 of those people come here to play softball in all age categories at all skill levels.

clip_image004

I checked in and found out when my first events would be played and then checked into my hotel. I took it easy the rest of the day as it looked like it would be a busy week. Then the rains came that night which might make for even a longer week.

10/5/2015

Seeding Rounds

Before day break I met up with my team at Grubel Park. We got started with the first of two seeding games where they try to find out at what level your team should be bracketed. The way we played we should be bracketed in another state. Needless to say we lost both of our games. But there is always another day. I did not play particularly well so that did not help. It was a beautiful day weather wise in the prettiest place I have ever played softball.

In the afternoon brother-in-law Wendell and sister-in-law rolled into town on their annual migration from Montana to Arizona. We had a good visit and then we went on to dinner. It was good to catch up with them as I only get to see them when they are passing through.

2 Comments

October 5, 2015 · 6:20 pm

2 responses to “Still Swinging through the Southwest

  1. Larry Burnworth

    Ok, I’m confused!!! Who are Wendal (brother-in-law) and “sister-in-law”??? Do you mean your sister??? 😎😎😎😎 Sounds like you are having a good trip, continued safe journey!! Larry

    Larry E. Burnworth H: 415.453.1128 C: 415.517.7999 e-M: l.e.burnworth@comcast.net

    Like

Where should I go next?

